Part 1: My Etymotic Custom Fit Experience

For christmas of 2010 I was lucky enough to receive a pair of Etymotic HF2 headphones, and let me tell you, they are brilliant. I’m not going to write a lengthy review on them right now, but as far as audio goes, I have to say these are great. Later on the year however I was made aware of a thing they do called Etymotic Custom Fit. When you get your Etymotic earphones they come with a range of four earbuds, and you choose which one fits your ear the best, makes the best seal, and really has the best mix of comfort and audio quality. The custom fit option however adds a fifth earbud to the equation, and today I started the process of having mine done. As you’ve probably guessed by now, the custom fit earbuds, are well, custom fit earbuds. So today I took a trip down to a local audiologist, where I started to process off. First they stick a tiny little cotton bud in your ear, deep in your ear, as to avoid any of the putty they put in your ears damaging anything in your ears. Next they squirt a whole bunch of this putty stuff into your ears, which is strangely comfortable. It’s very cool, temperature cool, and blocks out every decibel of sound in the room. My audiologist, Marry-anne was shutting cupboards and closing doors and I did not hear a single sound. Really quite cool. After about ten minutes the yellow putty that was injected into my ears was removed, and packed into a box where it will soon be sent on to Pacific Ears, where they will turn my ear-moulds into my earbuds which I will then slide onto my Etymotic HF2’s. I’ll be back in a couple of weeks with part two of this post, when I will be un-boxing my new buds and testing them out. In the mean time, check out Etymotic’s overview video below, and stay tuned and check out our other posts! And if your interested in writing for us, or advertising with us, please give me an email!

Comments
One Response to “Part 1: My Etymotic Custom Fit Experience”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] You might recall my previous post, just after I got my ears moulded, so go ahead and check it out here. Incase you haven’t already figured out, I’m much more of a deep in ear earphone type […]



Leave a Reply

