XBMC Now on iPad and Apple TV 2

There are many cool things to do with a jailbroken iOS devices, as against jailbreaking as I am, I still stand by this. Today another one of those things was added to the equation. XBMC, the popular media streaming service has now been brought to the second generation Apple TV, the iPad, and also the iPhone 4, however it is supposedly really painful to use on such a small screen. I love XBMC, it makes my media streaming so much easier. We have it running on the first generation Apple TV up the front, and it works great. It streams movies, music, tv shows all very smoothly and easily, however I still don’t think that’s enough to make me jailbreak my iPhone, iPad or Apple TV. They run so smoothly, and based on previous experience with jailbroken devices, it is not worth it for me, even with XBMC now available. I think I’ll stick with stream to me, and iTunes home sharing, but converting those video files, uhh, that’s going to be a pain. However if XBMC were to appear in the app store, well, that would be awesome.

Leave a Reply

