A week without cable: Part 2

So, here I am, 4 nights of no foxtel, and I’m holding up really quite well actually. So far I’ve gone through an entire season of Rush, an Australian police show, and that was great, but now I’ve run out, and it may seem I’ve got a bit of a problem. My Apple TV has been a star. It’s airplay capabilities really are becoming great. All of my content on iTunes is easily played straight to my apple tv, at the push of a few buttons. After a lot of use however, I have noticed some flaws. In Australia, you can not rent tv shows on the Apple TV, so, I buy them on my iMac and airplay them over to my Apple TV. In most cases on the mac, once a tv show, movie, or video podcast has downloaded enough, you can start playing it, while the rest of the video continues to download in the background. This is all well and good, however you can not airplay a video that’s in the process of being downloaded. This really does get annoying, because you’ll finish and episode, and have to wait 15 minutes while the second half of the next video downloads. Then you have to take your eyes off the telly and talk with the family *sarcastic sigh*.

Appart from my few issues with those downloads, my cable-less week is going surprisingly well. Foxtel will be back soon too, so it will all be over within a couple of days. It turned out it was A telstra fault, of course foxtel would say that.

Comments
One Response to “A week without cable: Part 2”
  1. Ducknose says:

    I’m surprised that you didn’t go insane after 4 days; I guess it is only Foxtel and not the internet. Hope you didn’t go over your quota 🙂 as I would’ve in that time trying to find something decent to watch (does Telstra/whoever you’re with put iTunes as quota free?) At least  saved the day. You could’ve done some homework 🙂

Leave a Reply

