Radial Keyboard Review

Today I stumbled across an interesting looking app called radial, so I thought I’d check it out and write about it.

One of the most common complaints about the iPad is it’s keyboard. Many think it’s perfectly fine, (in fact I am typing this article on mine now, about as fast as I would be on a normal keyboard), however many have a lot of problems with it. Isaac D. Lim is out to try and change this, with a new app called Radial Keyboard. The idea is very much there, and very good, in my personal opinion. One of the things I love most about my iPhone is how fast I can type on it, using just two thumbs very quickly. With the iPad this is not the case. To get a decent speed out of typing on my iPad, I have to have it set down on and ideal angle, and get to work touch typing. As you can see in the image above, this app tries to bring what the iPhone can achieve with the two thumb typing, to the iPad, and it’s a fairly good adaptation. With this app I can type with two thumbs, while holding the iPad with the rest of my hand. Upon closing the app it copy’s the text to the clipboard where you would then paste it into what ever text field you need to.

In summary I think this is a fairly good idea for an app, one of those innovative things that the app store seems to sometimes lose these days, among it’s hundreds of thousands of apps. The idea is brilliant, and I can see it being of very much use to me, I just think there may be a few problems with the execution of the app. For example I really don’t like to have to delete each character individually, however I’m sure that’s an easy fix which is on the way.

At $1.19, it’s worth it, give it a try!

 

Leave a Reply

