What’s next for Apple? New information on Lion

At the moment, I feel like I’m Apple this, Apple that, but the truth is, they are quite busy at the moment.

With the iPad 2 just announced, what’s next for Apple?

Recently, a whole bunch of information was released onto the Apple website regarding their new Mac operating system, Mac OSX 10.7, or as you probably know it, Lion. Including it’s Winter 2011 release, or Summer for us southern-hemispherers.

At this stage, the information is just a preview with it hopefully to be fully unveiled in the next few months.

iPad influences appear to be all over the place with the already released Mac App store but also with the “iPad-style” Launchpad and full-screen apps.

The new Mission Control feature looks pretty cool. It appears to be a full revamp of Expose, and looks like a real neat way of view all your open windows and selecting one with ease.

One thing that looks pretty awesome is the new Mail, Mail 5. Why I say this it that is now has Conversations. For those with iPhones, you’ll be fully aware what Conversations is. It lets you view all your messages with a particular person in chronological order. It is very handy. For this to be used in email as well is going to pretty sweet.

There is also a few other features revealed like Auto Save, Versions, Resume, Air Drop and FileVault, all of which have self-explanatory names as usual with Apple. I’d recommend checking them out at the Apple site here.

Comments
5 Responses to “What’s next for Apple? New information on Lion”
  1. Hamish Prior says:

    Hey Ewan, just thought I’d say I should have a full featured thing about Lion coming very soon, as soon as I get to run it properly 🙂
    So yeah if other readers are reading this comment check it out soon!

  2. Bonchie says:

    Why would I want the functionalities of apple’s portable devices on my computer? I want a PC, not a portable device made unportable. Apple should stop treating their computers as pitiful multimedia players, and start treating them for what they should be – beautifully powerful machines (that aren’t overpriced for their capabilities).
    “The power of OSX. The magic of iPad” my but.

    • Ewan Roxburgh says:

      I see where you are coming from. I think there definitely needs to be clear distinctions between the two.

  3. KT says:

    Ewan, can you, or one the the other authors, post an article about gadgets that are environmentally friendly in their manufacturing and power usage?

    • Ewan Roxburgh says:

      Possibly yeah. I like the idea, as I’m a bit of a greenie myself. I’ll keep it in mind. Keep a look out.

Leave a Reply

