Motorola Milestone 2 Review

Even though this is definitly not a brand new phone (at the rate mobile devices are updated), I thought that it would be a great idea to do a quick review of it, seeing as I have one available to me for a short time. It’s worth noting that I haven’t been able to have days of use with this phone, I’ve had a couple of hours playing around with the device, and that is why my review of it is a little short.

Hardware

The hardware of this device is something I really like, and I think that it is quite impressive. The design is very similar to that of a Motorola Droid, and the back of the device is something I really like. Very sleek, and good looking. The slide out keyboard slides out fairly well, and feels smooth and solid, however the keys seem a little undefined and I do find myself hitting a lot of the wrong ones. I can see this problem going away once you get used to it though, I guess just coming from the onscreen iPhone keyboard it feels a little weird. They do have a handy light up feature. I’m unsure to whether or not it’s an actual light behind the keys or more of a glow in the dark type thing, but either way it does the job well and they show up nicely in dimly-lit environments. The screen is nice, pixel density looks great and capacitive touch seems to work nicely. It’s five megapixel camera performs nicely and looks to take great pics. It also sports 720p video recording, which is a big plus for anybody who likes to film on their phone. Containing 8gb of onboard storage, pre-loaded with an 8gb micro SD (expandable to 32)  this phone’s hardware looks pretty great, and it’s 1ghz processor gets the job done quite nicely!

Software

I think this phone is very similar to what Ewan talks about with his Nokia N8, the software really lets the phone’s hardware down a bit. As much as I love Apple and iOS I still always try to keep an open mind with Android, because really there are some great devices that wouldn’t be without Android. Unfortunately however, Motoblur does not sit well with me. It feels a bit clunky, and the square sort of widgets that you get for things like calendar and news really just look ugly in my opinion. I’m not going to go to in depth with Motoblur, because it is a skin and not the actual phone, but suffice to say it is clunky, slow and really just looks sort of ugly. Something like HTC’s Sense or Samsung’s Touchwiz really tends to run and look better, but as with a bunch of other features this phone sports, it really is a matter of opinion. Apart from this though, 2.2 Froyo runs quite nicely on this phone. Generally quite smooth, and it’s functionality and features take your attention more than Motoblur, which in my opinion, is a good thing.

Connectivity

A place where this phone really does compete is it’s connectivity. The Milestone 2 touts a 10.1 flash supported browser, and the usual bluetooth and GPS you’d expect. Access to the Android Market, support for Corporate calendar, email and contacts along with all the usual Gmail and other google features. Facebook connectivity is a big plus too, and Motoblur’s Social Hub really does help out in this area.

Wrap Up

Where this device faults in it’s software side, it really makes up for with it’s hardware and connectivity. It’s sleek design and fairly well built slide-down qwerty keyboard make this a really great android device for the average user. If you liked the Droid, you’re obviously going to like this, because it is a very, very similar phone. Motoblur isn’t all bad news too, as I may have made out in that previous paragraph. The Social Hub feature really is useful, and the Navigation functionalities really are quite useful. All of the power, (and faults) of Android partnered with this hardware really makes for a great phone.

I’d give the Motorola Milestone 2 a 7.5 our of 10.

Comments
6 Responses to “Motorola Milestone 2 Review”
  1. awesum person ;D says:

    HTC legend is bettr!!!!! :DD, HTC legend is even better than the iphone!!!

    • Hamish Prior says:

      Anne, HTC Legend is more than a year old with very dated technology. A good phone, but there are far, far better ones out there these days. Runs an old version of Android, and it’s specs aren’t that of an iPhone to say the least

  2. Ducknose says:

    I do like the slide out keyboard though. How does the camera quality compare to the iPhone 4? considering that they are both 5MP. Personally, I am going to be more excited about the new dual core phones that will be released later this year and how Apple tackles this surge. iPhone 5 (possibility?) This phone is a bit ‘meh’ for the time that it was released. Hopefully it will be upgraded to 2.3 at a later stage and possible other future updates.

    • Hamish Prior says:

      The camera quality looks pretty good, however I do think there looks to be more sort of artifacts and noise in the image than on the iPhone 4. Still a good camera, yet in my opinion the image quality is better on the iPhone 4Yeah, Apple will almost definitely put it’s dual core A5 in the iPhone 5, they’d be pretty stupid not to in my opinion. Agreed, a 2.3 update would be great, and a better looking motoblur wouldn’t be bad too in my opinion.

    • Hamish Prior says:

      The camera quality looks pretty good, however I do think there looks to be more sort of artifacts and noise in the image than on the iPhone 4. Still a good camera, yet in my opinion the image quality is better on the iPhone 4Yeah, Apple will almost definitely put it’s dual core A5 in the iPhone 5, they’d be pretty stupid not to in my opinion. Agreed, a 2.3 update would be great, and a better looking motoblur wouldn’t be bad too in my opinion.

  3. milestoneman says:

    Man I love milestones! What a great name for a phone! YEAH, MILESTONES!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

